Tech News : Google To Disable All Private Google Plus Profiles After July 31st
Google has announced that all Google Profiles which are private (i.e. withholding names or gender from public Search) are to be disabled at the end of the month. Google Profiles are tied in to Google Plus, designed to help manage an individual’s identity on the web.
The company has spelled this out via the Google Plus help topics surrounding public profiles. The entry states:
The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.
Keep in mind that your full name and gender are the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share.
If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011.
This change makes a huge difference from the private profile options seen on Facebook, which allows users to remove themselves from search results, messages, friend requests and more. Though Google’s approach only requires the name and gender fields to be public, it is a sort of Dictatorial tactic to force everyone into the same boat.