Home > My Utilities, TED Downloader > Updates : Blog, TEDinator(100 video limit fix), etc…

Updates : Blog, TEDinator(100 video limit fix), etc…


Scenario : Its been sometime that there has been a post. Also TEDinator is not working properly as it should and the developer is not responding to us. What are we supposed to do in that case ??

Solution : First of all, let me begin by providing my apologies to all those people who took the time to either comment or mail me (via about page or direct mail) that i have not been able to reply to or for that matter update my blog or provide any update to TEDinator.

I am currently between changing jobs and the place i live at….these has sort of messed a lot of things and i have to had to cope with a lot of things so i could not come up with the time to do anything….and in fact it is still going to be another month before everything can become normal, methinks.

Now apart from this, the other reason i was not updating TEDinator was that i was planning and, have in fact, begun work on a new version which would automate everything and make the whole affair a lot smoother for the user, that is you, and i wanted to introduce the fix with that version but unfortunately, i have not been able to complete the version, So i am providing you with a fix for the “100 Videos” limit issue.

Tedinator V3.5 

This is Version 3.5.

While i admit this is a quick, clumsy fix but it will get the job done for now. The only issue, currently with this, will be that the loading of 1350 odd videos will take some time. In my tests, it took in the range of 50 secs – 1 minute(see screenshot below at 53.84 secs)

Time Taken

I request you to temporary bear with the clumsiness of the app and wait patiently for the next update which i promise is going to be mind blowing. In case you run into any more trouble, do notify me and i will try to fix any and all problems as soon as possible.

The new version of TED (3.5) has been updated on the bitbucket site, as usual.

Download Link ]

  1. April 10, 2013 at 10:08 am

    A lot of thanks for you
    TEDinator is very useful for me

  2. iNgeon
    April 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Thank you so much.

    As a side note, I noticed that files that downloaded partially gets accepted as complete,
    thus tedinator ignores them and moves on.

  3. iNgeon
    April 18, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Would like to request the feature to pause and resume downloads.

  4. Calvin
    April 25, 2013 at 3:27 am

    Hi,

    I just came across this tool, but the “Refresh Links” is triggering the “booboo” message instead of showing me a list of TED talks. I simply downloaded 3.5, ran it for the first time, saved the setting, then got the error message. Thoughts?

    Thanks!

    • April 25, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      Hey Calvin, I am afraid that I have not been able to replicate the issue….do you mind telling me the Country in which you live ?? Sometimes ted.com changes config for certain regions

      • Calvin
        April 28, 2013 at 4:37 am

        Thanks for the reply. I’m in the US, California. Is there a URL that I can test for?

      • Calvin
        April 28, 2013 at 4:44 am

        Okay here’s an update. I am able to get the links using V2.3.0.2 and V2.3.1.8, but not on V3.0 and V3.5. I guess the link fetch mechanism changed?

        • April 28, 2013 at 2:18 pm

          Hey Calvin,
          I think the links that you will be getting will be 100 only i think….btw i checked….the links are working properly in your region and the fact that you can get links from v 2.3.0 and 2.3.1 means it is working properly…..just check your firewall to see whether the tool is blocked….i think that your antivirus/firewall might be blocking the tool from accessing the internet…pls can you verify this ??

  5. Calvin
    April 28, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks again for the reply. I guess WP doesn’t let you nest the replies over 4-deep…

    I can’t seem to figure out what’s wrong. I don’t have an anti-virus, and my computer is on DMZ so any port would work. In any case, which ports does the tool use? I figured the plain-ol 80 or 443? If that’s the case, I can’t imagine any program blocking those…

    Could it be that I’m missing a dependent library? I recently installed Windows 8, and I don’t see .NET on “Add/Remove Program”. If the program is written in C#, could this be a problem? But wasn’t 2.3 also written in the same language? Are you using the same libraries?

    I understand if you can’t help me with this. Maybe I’ll write one on my own haha. Thanks again!

    • April 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      ya….nesting is limited….my tool uses the default 80 but you can change that when using proxy….i see, i’m dealing with a fellow programmer….then this should be fun….tell you what, i will put together a logging utility for you….just give me some time, max 2 days….it will log the process and help us find out what the issue is….also the libraries are same so if v.2 works then 3 should also work…

    • April 29, 2013 at 10:03 pm

      Hey Calvin,
      Please check your mail….i have sent you the troubleshooting utility…..

  6. SimonYao
    May 31, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    Hi, sir
    I got same issue with Calvin both in HK and China, and I had disable the firewall on windows 7, would you please update the status of this issue, 2.3.1.8 is work fine
    BTW, about proxy, would you please add the user and password option

  7. Ravi
    July 9, 2013 at 5:14 am

    Thanks a lot for the wonderful program.
    Even I am upset about 100 limit talk.
    Please keep me updated on the improved version.

  8. Vel
    July 19, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Thanks a lot Obin, now I finished downloading the whole collection with 128 GB in total XD
    However, I opted to download English subtitle, yet “subtitles have not been created for this item” always come out in every video. Is there any chance this could be fixed?

    Thanks!

  9. Jennifer
    July 11, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    Hi, I was SO EXCITED to come across this tool, as I absolutely LOVE TED Talks, and with poor internet service, I need to download them to watch. But then the download link disappeared. I guess it must have something to do with the 100 video limit that I was unaware of. I was SO HAPPY to install and run your software, but sadly, it’s not working for me (I’m in New Zealand). Message says “Video Download Failed”. Do you know why? Is this still being supported? Please say yes. I need these for a homeschooler’s educational program. Thanks

  10. Jennifer
    July 11, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Oh, sorry, in the end it did end up downloading correctly. However, I have a request. I show my videos by playlist, so when I downloaded the 8 videos on the “Everything You Thought in the World… Was Wrong” playlist, I exported the links to an html file thinking I could then open up that file in a browser, then click on the links to open the associated downloaded videos from my computer. However, the links point only to the videos online. Could a row be added to this spreadsheet which points to where the file has been saved on the computer? That would be really helpful for us. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

